Review; Death on the Page (Castle Bookshop Mystery #2) by Essie Lang

Earlier this year I recieved an ARC of the cosy mystery Death on the Page (Castle Bookshop Mystery #2) by Essie Lang through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Netgalley
Essie Lang's second Castle Bookshop mystery is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.

Thousand Islands bookstore owner Shelby Cox sleuths the slaying of a true-crime writer who may have learned too much about a murder case that should have stayed shut.

There are a thousand stories in New York's scenic Thousand Islands, and Bayside Books co-owner Shelby Cox stocks them all. But lately, the Blye Island bookseller's life is more about investigation than inventory. True-crime writer Savannah Page caps off two successful signings at Bayside Books with a night in Blye Castle. She's there to research Joe Cabana, a colorful Prohibition-era mobster who owned the castle--until he was found dead in the island Grotto.

But crime becomes all too true for Savannah. Her body turns up the next morning, in a secret passage at the bottom of the stairs. The last thing Shelby Cox wants is to sleuth another murder, but she's intrigued about how a killer could have reached the island after hours. She's not at a lack for suspects either. It could have been anyone from Savannah's fiancé, Liam Kennelly, who argued with her the evening before, to island caretaker Matthew Kessler, recently cleared of his wife's murder. Can Shelby keep regular store hours, elude the police chief, and assemble the clues into a hard-bound case without getting permanently shelved?

My Thoughts on the Book
Although this is a charming cosy mystery which includes books, a cute cat and a house boat, I felt it was a bit average. I'm not saying it is a bad book, but it was an average cosy mystery. I also guessed the culprit very fast. I might add that I liked a few of the characters.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Omtale; Djeveldansen av Tore Aurstad og Carina Westberg

2019 Diversity Reading Challenge

Omtale; Den lille bistroen i Bretagne av Nina George