Posts

Review; On Deadly Tides: A Penny Brannigan Mystery by Elizabeth J Duncan

Image
Last year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the cosy mystery On Deadly Tides: A Penny Brannigan Mystery by Elizabeth J Duncan through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review. Description from Netgalley With a picturesque black and white lighthouse, pebble beaches and stunning views of sea and mountains, the island of Anglesey off the coast of North Wales is the perfect place for an idyllic mid-summer painting holiday. And watercolour artist, businesswoman, and amateur sleuth Penny Brannigan is enjoying the retreat enormously - until she discovers the body of a New Zealand journalist on a secluded beach just as the tide is going out, threatening to take the body with it. The post mortem reveals the victim died from injuries "consistent with a fall from a great height," and the death is ruled accidental. But Penny thinks there's more to the story. Curious how the victim came to such an untimely end at this most inhospitable spot,

#SixForSunday; Magical Books

Image
I came across the weekly meme called #SixForSunday, hosted by  A Little But A Lot and I decided to participate this week as the prompt of the week, magical books, looked fun. Here's my six picks; Swords, Sorcery & Self-Rescuing Damsels edited by Lee French and Sarah Craft Maiden, Mother, Crone: Fantastical Frens Femmes edited by Gwen Benaway The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend The Laird of Duncairn by Craig Comer Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Review; A Deadly Chapter: A Castle Bookshop Mystery (Castle Bookshop Mystery #3) by Essie Lang

Image
Last year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the cosy mystery A Deadly Chapter: A Castle Bookshop Mystery (Castle Bookshop Mystery #3) by Essie Lang through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review. Description from Goodreads Thousand Islands bookseller Shelby Cox is caught between a lethal rock and a hardheaded newcomer in Essie Lang's third Castle Bookshop mystery, a must-read for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany. Wake up on a houseboat, moored in scenic Alexandria Bay, New York. Ride the gentle waves to work at quaint Bayside Books, where you spend your days supplying literature and conversation to the charming locals and seasonal tourists. Sounds pleasant, doesn't it? Except bookseller Shelby Cox has already sleuthed two murders from Bayside Books's home base on Blye Island, one of New York State's famed Thousand Islands. And this time, mayhem knocks right on Shelby's waterside door when she finds a body lodged be

Bøker om andre verdenskrig

Image
I nattens mulm og mørke 9. april 1940 invaderte Nazi-Tyskland Norge. Fem år etter var andre verdenskrig over. I forbindelse med invasjonen av Norge, og deretter okkupasjonen, fant jeg ut at var passende at jeg skrev en liste med anbefalinger av bøker om andre verdenskrig. For som Winston Churchill sa, " de som feiler å lære av historie er dømt til å gjenta den ". Her er tolv bøker verdt å lese. I Flew for the Führer av Heinz Knoke Dutch Girl: Audrey Hepburn and World War II av Robert Matzen 26. november: Fire fortellinger fra det norske Holocaust av Mikael Holmberg Anne Franks dagbok av Anne Frank Gutten på trekassa av Leon Leyson Arkadij: en sovjetsoldat i Bjerkreim og andre skjebner fra 2. verdenskrig av Bjørn Bratbak Krysseren Blücher av Alf R. Jacobsen Frontsøstre: Norske kvinner under hakekorset av Vegard Sæther Okkupert: De fem lengste årene i Norges historie av Bjørn Are Godøy Dødsleirene på norsk jord av Jarle Elvemo Fangene som forsvant: NSB og slavearbeiderne på Nor

Book Tag; The Book Snob Tag

Image
I came across The Book Snob Tag over at  Musings of a Book Girl  and I decided to play along. Adaptation Snob: Do you always read the book before you see the movie? Most of the time, yes, but there's exceptions, such as Chocolat by Joanne Harris. Format Snob: You can only choose one format in which to read books for the rest of your life. Which one do you choose: physical books, ebooks, or audiobooks? Physical books. Ship Snob: Would you date or marry a non-reader? Maybe, if they had other mutual interests. Genre Snob: You have to ditch one genre – never to be read again for the rest of your life. Which one do you ditch? Romance. Uber Genre Snob: You can only choose to read from one genre for the rest of your life. Which genre do you choose? Either fantasy or down the line of mystery/crime. Community Snob: Which genre do you think receives the most snobbery from the bookish community? Based on my own experiences, I would say probably fantasy or horror. Snobbery Recipient: Have you

Omtale; Lyst til å drepe av Anki Edvinsson

Image
For lenge siden var jeg såpass heldig at jeg fikk tilsendt et leseeksemplar av krimromanen Lyst til å drepe av Anki Edvinsson fra forlaget. Nå har jeg lest den og i dag kommer omtalen av boka. Beskrivelse fra forlaget Et mulig terrorangrep ryster den ellers så fredelige byen Umeå. Samtidig skjer et brutalt drap. Er det en sammenheng mellom de to hendelsene? Etterforskerparet Per Bergh og Charlotte von Klint jager skygger i en by lammet av sorg. Parallelt følger vi to sinte, unge menn på vei mot stupet, og en innvandrerjente opplever at livet blir stadig vanskeligere å håndtere. Mine tanker om boka Lyst til å drepe var en spennende bok å lese, spesielt hvis en liker krim med fokus på politi, samtidig som en følger noen andre karakterer også. Jeg var usikker på hvem gjerningspersonen i det ene tilfellet, i tillegg til at jeg syntes det var noe hjerteskjærende over historien til Mariam. 

Omtale; Dykket av Frits De Bourg

Image
I fjor var jeg såpass heldig at jeg fikk tilsendt et leseeksemplar av krimromanen Dykket av Frits De Bourg fra forlaget. Nå har jeg lest den og i dag kommer omtalen av boka. Beskrivelse fra forlaget Frits de Bourg, norsk krims best bevarte hemmelighet, leverer feinschmecker-spenning om livsfarlig dykking, kynisk profittjag og korrupsjon. Nicolay Wolff er i Holmestrand for å hjelpe Jenny Borgelin med å få broren ut av et skipsvrak på bunnen av Oslofjorden. Broren omkom i et dykkeroppdrag i vraket, som har en eksplosiv last. Det er få dager igjen til det hele skal dekkes med fyllmasse. Men hvorfor etterlot broren et notat med navnene på kommunens rike og mektige? Hva har det å gjøre med to døde tenåringsjenter og en populær ordførers avgang, og hvorfor begynner også Wolff å motta bibelsitater i posten? I Dykket må journalist Nicolay Wolff gå dypt, både i fjorden, i seg selv og i en kystbys mørke hemmeligheter. Frits de Bourg (f. 1946) har skrevet fem romaner om journalist Nicolay