Posts

Mailbox Monday; December 5th 2022

Image
It's Monday and I thought it was time for a new Mailbox Monday post courtesy of the book blog  Mailbox Monday as it's been some time since I wrote the last one. Here's the books I've recieved in the mail lately. The Loch by Steve Alten The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks Banquet for the Damned by Adam L. G. Nevill Reading the World by Ann Morgan Murder in a Mill Town by Helen Cox Playing with Matches by Michael Faudet The Cursed Among Us by John Durgin The Fisherman by John Langan

Review; A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Image
Earlier this year, I read the paranormal fantasy novel A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness and today I'll post my review of the book. Description from Goodreads Deep in the heart of Oxford's Bodleian Library, Diana Bishop—a young scholar and the descendant of witches—unearths an enchanted alchemichal manuscript. Wanting nothing to do with sorcery, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery has set a fantastical underworld stirring, and soon a horde of daemons, witches, and other creatures descends upon the library. Among them is the enigmatic Matthew Clairmont, a vampire with a keen interest in the book. Equal parts history and magic, romance and suspense, A Discovery of Witches is a mesmerizing and addictive tale of passion and obsession that reveals the closely guarded secrets of an enchanted world. My Thoughts on the Book A Discovery of Witches was one of those atmospheric books that left me wanting more. I loved the writing style of the author and it'

Omtale; Norske frivillige i Waffen-SS av Geir Brenden og Tommy Natedal

Image
Tidligere i år leste jeg boka Norske frivillige i Waffen-SS av Geir Brenden og Tommy Natedal og i dag kommer omtalen. Beskrivelse fra Norli Over 5000 nordmenn meldte seg frivillig for å kjempe på nazistenes side under annen verdenskrig. Vel 900 av dem kom aldri hjem. Motivene deres var sammensatte, men noen fellestrekk hadde de. Blant annet var behovet for å rettferdiggjøre valget sitt viktig, og i likhet med sine tyske våpenbrødre var de flinke til å dokumentere livet ved fronten. Selv om dette livet bar preg av dødens nærhet, er det likevel et annet inntrykk man får når man får se bildene de tok. Denne boken inneholder en utrolig samling fotografier som hovedsakelig stammer fra frontkjemperne selv. Her er mer enn 1000 tidligere upubliserte bilder. Fra Østfronten får vi blant annet se frontkjempere som poserer og smiler mot kameraet, skåler til fotografen, sørger i en kamerats begravelse eller kryper sammen i skyttergravene når de russiske stalinorglene spiller opp. I tillegg innehol

Let's Talk Bookish; Can You Predict Someone’s Genre of Choice?

Image
It's Friday and perhaps it's time for another Let's Talk Bookish post, courtesy of  Book Nook Bits and the topic of the week was "Can you predict someone's genre of choice?". Here's the further prompts for this week. What is your favorite genre and why? Is there a reason why those particular genres speak to you or capture your interest? What is your least favorite genre and why? Is the genre the biggest determination of whether you look for and choose a book, or is it something else? Do you find that you are able to predict what kind of genres people like based on their personalities? Do you notice patterns in which kinds of people like certain genres? While I have a bit of an eclectic reading taste, I do have a weak spot for horror and paranormal books, as it enables me to enjoy all things spooky. On the flip-side of things, I do steer away from bodice-ripping historical romances as I find them way too cheesy and in lack of better definitions, unintelli

Book Tag; Winter Wonderland Tag

Image
I came across the Winter Wonderland Tag over at  A Little But A Lot and I decided to play along as it looked like a fun tag to do. ONE: WHAT BOOK IS SO HAPPY AND SO SWEET THAT IT JUST WARMS YOUR HEART? The Little Bookshop of Love Stories by Jaimie Admans TWO: WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE BOOK WITH A WHITE COVER? Stalking Ground by Margaret Mizushima THREE: YOU’RE SITTING IN A NICE, COMFORTABLE CHAIR WITH A CUP OF HOT CHOCOLATE. WHAT MONSTER BOOK ARE YOU READING? If it's about size, I wouldn't mind re-reading A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. FOUR: ITS SNOWING OUTSIDE AND YOU DECIDE YOU WANT TO HAVE A SNOWBALL FIGHT. WHAT FICTIONAL CHARACTER DO YOU WANT TO HAVE THIS SNOWBALL FIGHT WITH? I wouldn't mind playing in the snow with Robo, the GSD in Timber Creek K-9 Mystery series by Margaret Mizushima. As I grew up with dogs, and one of the family dogs was a GSD, I know just how much fun it is playing with them in the snow. FIVE: SADLY, YOUR CAMPFIRE IS DYING. WHAT LAST FEW CH

Review; Always Remember Your Name: The Children of Auschwitz by Andra Bucci and Tatiana Bucci

Image
Last month I read the non-fiction book Always Remember Your Name: The Children of Auschwitz by Andra Bucci and Tatiana Bucci and today I'll post my review. Description from Goodreads On 28 March 1944, Italian sisters Tati (six) and Andra (four) were roused from their sleep and taken to Auschwitz, to the infamous Kinder Block presided over by Josef Mengele, the Angel of Death. By the time Auschwitz was liberated, 230,000 children had been murdered, and the sisters were among only 70 child survivors. Throughout their ordeal in the camp and the liberation of Auschwitz, their long journey from Poland to Czechoslovakia and finally to Lingfield House in Britain, they hung on to their promise to their mother to 'always remember your name'. They never forgot they were Tati and Andra Bucci, and it was this connection to their heritage that brought them miraculously back to their parents, years later and many countries away. The sisters overcame their trauma to live long lives, bear

Top Ten Tuesday; Cosy Reads

Image
It's Tuesday and perhaps it's time for a new Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of  That Artsy Reader Girl and the theme of the week was cosy reads. Here's my ten picks. The Twistrose Key by Tone Almhjell Description from Goodreads A striking middle-grade debut in the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass When a mysterious parcel arrives at her family’s new home, eleven-year-old Lin Rosenquist has a curious feeling she’s meant to discover what’s inside. Much to Lin’s surprise, the ornate key contained in the parcel unlocks a spellbinding world called Sylver, hidden behind the cellar door. Sylver is an enchanting land of eternal winter, inhabited by animals that shared a special connection with children in the real world, either as beloved pets or tamed wild animals. In death, they are delivered to Sylver, where they take on a curiously human-like form and still watch over the children they cherish. While Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with her beloved pet, R