Review; Dead on the Vine (A Finn Family Farm Mystery #1) by Elle Brooke White

Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the cosy mystery Dead on the Vine (A Finn Family Farm Mystery #1) by Elle Brooke White through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Goodreads
Perfect for fans of B. B. Haywood and Peg Cochran, Ellie B. White's whimsical series debut is full of farm fun, complete with a helpful teacup pig.

Reluctant farmer Charlotte Finn needs the help of the livestock to sleuth a mysterious death.

Charlotte Finn never wanted to inherit the family's produce farm--much less plow a heap of money into it. Her plan is to hammer a great big FOR SALE sign into the farm's fallow furrows--but Charlotte's sunny hopes of a quick sale succumb to a killing frost when she finds a dead body entwined supine in the tomato vines. The poor man, it seems, was run through...with a pitchfork?

Now, Charlotte is stuck with running the farm in the midst of a murder investigation. Charlotte's knowledge of farming is smaller than her bank balance, so she relies on caretakers Joe and Alice Wong and their farmhands. Can she trust them? She doesn't know them. There's also farmer Samuel Brown, who still carries a childhood grudge. But the case gets personal when Charlotte learns that the victim might have been her own kin--and seeds of suspicion grow into a fertile field of suspects.

Charlotte turns to the farm's teacup pig to help root out the killer. Soon, the goats, geese, and horse join in, but will Charlotte harvest a murderer--or buy the farm?

My Thoughts on the Book
This was a really fun and charming cosy mystery. I loved several of the characters and their friendships. As an animal lover, of course I loved the animals too, especially Horse, Mrs. Robinson and Pele. There were quite a few red herrings and suspects, as well as twists and turns in this book to make it engaging, even if I had a suspicion on the culprit.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Omtale; Djeveldansen av Tore Aurstad og Carina Westberg

2019 Diversity Reading Challenge

Omtale; Den lille bistroen i Bretagne av Nina George