Review; On Borrowed Crime (A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery #1) by Kate Young

Last year I recieved an ARC of the cosy mystery On Borrowed Crime (A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery #1) by Kate Young through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Goodreads
A shoe-in read for fans of Ellery Adams and Kate Carlisle, On Borrowed Crime is the first in Kate Young's new Georgia-set, sweet tea filled, Jane Doe Book Club mysteries.

The Jane Doe book club enjoys guessing whodunit, but when murder happens in their midst, they discover solving crimes isn't fun and games...

Lyla Moody loves her sleepy little town of Sweet Mountain, Georgia. She likes her job as receptionist for her uncle's private investigative firm, her fellow true crime obsessed Jane Doe members are the friends she's always wanted, and her parents just celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary. But recently, with her best friend Melanie on vacation, and her ex-boyfriend and horrible cousin becoming an item and moving in next door to her, her idyllic life is on the fritz. The cherry on top of it all is finding Carol, a member of the club, dead and shoved into a suitcase, left at Lyla's front door.

Unusual circumstances notwithstanding, with Carol's heart condition, the coroner rules Carol's death undetermined. But when they discover the suitcase belongs to Melanie, who had returned from her vacation the following morning, Sweet Mountain police begin to suspect Lyla's best friend. Determined that police are following the wrong trail, to clear her friend's name, and to not allow Carol become one of the club's studied cold cases, Lyla begins to seek out the real killer. That is, until she becomes the one sought after. Now, finding the truth could turn her into the killer's next plot twist, unless she wins the game of cat and mouse.

My Thoughts on the Book
On Borrowed Crime was a fun and entertaining cosy mystery. The mystery was layered and had several red herrings thrown in the mix, that kept me guessing a bit. Although I sometimes got a bit frustrated with Lyla Moody, I loved the relationship she had with her grandmother. Also, I felt the characters were uneven in terms of complexity, some had it, while others didn't.

It was an entertaining read, though, with a bunch of Agatha Christie references.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Announcing the 2022 Diversity Reading Challenge

Let's Talk Bookish; Are Big TBR's A Result Of Abibliophobia?

Review; A Christmas Carol by Philip Gooden and Charles Dickens