Review; The Body in the Mist by Nick Louth

Last year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the crime novel The Body in the Mist by Nick Louth through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards, but I haven't published my review until now.

Description from Netgalley
A brutal murder hints at a terrifying mystery, and this time it’s personal.

A body is found on a quiet lane in Exmoor, victim of a hit and run. He has no ID, no wallet, no phone, and – after being dragged along the road – no recognisable face.

Meanwhile, fresh from his last case, DCI Craig Gillard is unexpectedly called away to Devon on family business.

Gillard is soon embroiled when the car in question is traced to his aunt. As he delves deeper, a dark mystery reveals itself, haunted by family secrets, with repercussions Gillard could never have imagined.

The past has never been deadlier.

From master storyteller Nick Louth comes the third installment in the DCI Craig Gillard series. Compelling, fast-paced and endlessly enjoyable, The Body in the Mist is a triumph, perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Angela Marsons and Faith Martin.

My Thoughts on the Book
The Body in the Mist had several twists and turns which made it a compelling read. The characters were complex and the author did a good job with atmospheric tension. The crappy weather also sets the mood a bit and I give kudos to the author for dealing with sexual abuse of children.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Announcing the 2022 Diversity Reading Challenge

Book Tag; Fantasy Book Tag

Announcing the 2022 WWII Reading Challenge