Review: A Patient Man by Charlie Garratt

Last year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the crime/mystery novel A Patient Man by Charlie Garratt through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Goodreads
Inspector Given investigates murder at the outbreak of World War II! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L Sayers, Philip Kerr and Andrew Taylor.

Can Inspector Given lay the ghosts of his past to rest…?

England, 1939

With the outcome of his previous case still haunting him, Inspector James Given is struggling to recover.
Nightmares over his ex-girlfriend’s death are worrying him and he is questioning whether he will be able to continue working as a detective.
On top of that, the outbreak of the Second World War is announced and Given’s Jewish family is at risk.
While Given travels to Europe in search of his uncle, a complicated case arises at home in Kenilworth.
Before leaving, Given had been put in charge of a seemingly straightforward suicide case. But now the police suspect the man was murdered.
As Given returns home he finds himself forced to investigate the brutal killing.
Can Given make peace with his past? Will he be able to cope with the murder case?
And can he save his family from the horrors of Hitler’s regime…?

A PATIENT MAN is the third historical crime novel in the Inspector James Given Mystery Series – a traditional British investigation set in England immediately before the Second World War.

My Thoughts on the Book
As I've read the two other books in this series, I was eager to read this one and it didn't disappoint. It has a solid mystery, fleshed out characters and it's well researched, considering all the issues Jews struggled with before and around the outbreak of World War II.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Announcing the 2021 Diversity Reading Challenge

Omtale; Djeveldansen av Tore Aurstad og Carina Westberg

Review; A Christmas Carol by Philip Gooden and Charles Dickens