Posts

Review; In Cold Chamomile (A Tea and Read Mystery #3) by Joy Avon

Image
Earlier this year I recieved an ARC of the cosy mystery In Cold Chamomile (A Tea and Read Mystery #3) by Joy Avon through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.
Description from Goodreads
Just in time for the holidays, In Cold Chamomile is sure to be a cupid's arrow aimed straight for your bookshelf.

Tea party organizer Callie Aspen learns that Cupid's arrows can be deadly when a Valentine's Day soiree ends in murder.

Callie Aspen can't think of a more appropriate place to spend Valentine's Day than her adopted hometown of Heart's Harbor, Maine. When she's not helping out at Book Tea, her great-aunt Iphy's vintage tearoom, Callie's adorning Haywood Hall with hearts and roses for the big Valentine's event, where townspeople will fall in love with sweet treats, heartwarming music, and delightful books. But tension is brewing: The librarian argues with the expert who is on hand to appraise precious volumes. And Iphy…

Review; Much Ado about Nutmeg by Sarah Fox

Image
Earlier this year I recieved an ARC of the cosy mystery Much Ado about Nutmeg by Sarah Fox through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Netgalley
Wedding bells are in the air—along with the aroma of maple syrup—in the latest Pancake House Mystery. But a series of murders threatens to spoil everyone’s appetite. . .

Between tourist season, planning her beach wedding, and running her pancake house, the Flip Side, Marley McKinney is busier than ever. On top of that, one of her regulars is competing in Wildwood Cove’s Golden Oldies Games—a sporting event for athletes 50 and over—and Marley wants to cheer her on. Everything’s running as smooth as batter—until sports reporter Yvonne Pritchard stirs up a triple batch of trouble . . .

Yvonne has one admirer in town—Ed Herman—but she has many more enemies, from a disgruntled coach to an athlete she once shamed on social media. So when a body washes up on shore, and it’s no accident, it’s not …

Review; The She Book by Tanya Markul

Image
A while ago I recieved an ARC of the poetry collection The She Book by Tanya Markul through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Goodreads
The She Book is a collection of 114 poems, prose, and quotes written for you. Because this is your year to live the life of your dreams, to heal, to witness, to be the one who queens. Once a silent star in the sky, lost, alone and unnoticed, she began to dream her life awake.

Crafting together the power of words and womanhood, writer Tanya Markul has written a completely unique poetry collection fit for the phenomenal readers of today.
In Tanya's words, "May we raise the bar for how we live our lives. May we ridiculously increase the amount of peace, play, creativity, beauty, love, and joy in everything we do. May we all sip from the wisdom of our suffering. And awaken with the courage to share our stories that can heal our inner and outer worlds."

My Thoughts on the Book
This is …

Top Ten Tuesday; Crime, Mystery and Thriller Covers With Moody Nature

Image
It's Tuesday and time for a new Top Ten Tuesday post, courtesy of That Artsy Reader Girl. The theme of the week was cover freebie, so I decided making a list of crime, mystery and thriller covers with moody nature.

My picks are;
Jernspøkelset by Ivar Aase
Forliset by Frode Granhus
Jenta uten hud (The Girl Without Skin) by Mads Peder Norbo
Tracking Game by Margaret Mizushima
The Nidderdale Murders by J. R. Ellis
The Baby on the Back Porch by Lucia N. Davis
Roanoke Ridge by J. J. Dupuis
The Body in the Mist by Nick Louth
Coffin Road by Peter May
Frostgraven by Sonja Holterman

Review; Death on the Page (Castle Bookshop Mystery #2) by Essie Lang

Image
Earlier this year I recieved an ARC of the cosy mystery Death on the Page (Castle Bookshop Mystery #2) by Essie Lang through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.
Description from Netgalley
Essie Lang's second Castle Bookshop mystery is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.

Thousand Islands bookstore owner Shelby Cox sleuths the slaying of a true-crime writer who may have learned too much about a murder case that should have stayed shut.

There are a thousand stories in New York's scenic Thousand Islands, and Bayside Books co-owner Shelby Cox stocks them all. But lately, the Blye Island bookseller's life is more about investigation than inventory. True-crime writer Savannah Page caps off two successful signings at Bayside Books with a night in Blye Castle. She's there to research Joe Cabana, a colorful Prohibition-era mobster who owned the castle--until he was found dead in the island Grotto.

But crime becomes all too true …

Review; Dead on the Vine (A Finn Family Farm Mystery #1) by Elle Brooke White

Image
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the cosy mystery Dead on the Vine (A Finn Family Farm Mystery #1) by Elle Brooke White through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.
Description from Goodreads
Perfect for fans of B. B. Haywood and Peg Cochran, Ellie B. White's whimsical series debut is full of farm fun, complete with a helpful teacup pig.

Reluctant farmer Charlotte Finn needs the help of the livestock to sleuth a mysterious death.

Charlotte Finn never wanted to inherit the family's produce farm--much less plow a heap of money into it. Her plan is to hammer a great big FOR SALE sign into the farm's fallow furrows--but Charlotte's sunny hopes of a quick sale succumb to a killing frost when she finds a dead body entwined supine in the tomato vines. The poor man, it seems, was run through...with a pitchfork?

Now, Charlotte is stuck with running the farm in the midst of a murder investigation. Charlotte's kno…

Review; Avocado Bliss by Candace Robinson and Gerardo Delgadillo

Image
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the YA novel Avocado Bliss by Candace Robinson and Gerardo Delgadillo through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Goodreads
Dacre Vinson has spent the majority of his life in quite the predicament—even the surf and his books can’t erase his Type 1 diabetes. But when Dacre’s family moves to a new Mexican town, an eccentric girl obsessed with trees offers him a job on the spot, leading to what could be the perfect distraction from his problems.

Salbatora Tames has one true love, her avocado farm. Her family constantly nudges her to be more social, but Sal much prefers the dirt, the sun, and the solitude. Besides, trees listen better than people do.

For Sal and Dacre, their job won’t stay easy breezy for long, not when an avocado delivery to Palenque, Mexico pops up on their radar. Together, they embark on a road trip across the jungle, where they form a tighter bond. How…