Posts

Top Five Wednesday; Haunted House Horror Novels Written By Female Authors

Image
It's Wednesday and perhaps time for a new Top Five Wednesday post, courtesy of the Goodreads group with the same name. The theme of the week was favourite tropes, so I decided narrowing it down to the haunted house trope often found in horror novels, but focusing on books written by female authors. Here's my picks. The Woman in Black by Susan Hill Description from Goodreads Arthur Kipps, a junior solicitor in London, is summoned to Crythin Gifford to attend the funeral of Mrs Alice Drablow, and to sort through her papers before returning to London. It is here that Kipps first sees the woman in black and begins to gain an impression of the mystery surrounding her. From the funeral he travels to Eel Marsh House and sees the woman again; he also hears the terrifying sounds on the marsh. Despite Kipps’s experiences he resolves to spend the night at the house and fulfil his professional duty. It is this night at Eel Marsh House that contains the greatest horror for Kipps. Kipps lat

Top Ten Tuesday; Crime, Mystery and Thriller Novels With Nature On Cover

Image
It's Tuesday and time for a new Top Ten Tuesday post, courtesy of That Artsy Reader Girl . The theme of the week was books with nature on cover and I decided narrowing it down by focusing on crime, mystery and thriller novels. Here's my picks. Why Did You Lie? by Yrsa Sigurdardottir The Boy in the Headlights by Samuel Bjørk I Will Miss You Tomorrow by Heine Bakkeid The Girl Without Skin by Mads Peder Nordbo Tracking Game by Margaret Mizushima The Body in the Mist by Nick Louth Coffin Road by Peter May The Nidderdale Murders by J. R. Ellis Dead Wicked by Helen H. Durrant The Marsh King's Daughter by Karen Dionne

Omtale; Den gylne tigeren by Hanne Eik

Image
I fjor var jeg såpass heldig at jeg mottok et leseeksemplar av romanen Den gylne tigeren by Hanne Eik fra forlaget. Nå har jeg lest boka og i dag kommer omtalen. Beskrivelse fra forlaget Eksotisk underholdningsroman om å møte det man frykter. Singapore, 2014. I lang tid har Julie strevd for å holde fasaden, men ryktene om ektemannens sidesprang sprer seg stadig i omgangskretsen, og til slutt klarer hun ikke finne mening i alt som skjer. Hun blir reddet – av den minst sannsynlige redningsmann – og havner så langt unna sin vante verden hun kunne komme. Hvordan skal hun klare å finne tilbake til den hun er, i en dampende jungel full av truende dyr og ukjente mennesker? Den gylne tigeren er en bok om å finne sin plass i en verden man ikke forstår. Om rikdommen i ulike kulturer og om magien i det mellommenneskelige. Det er en bok om kjærlighet. Og ikke minst: om en gyllen tiger. Mine tanker om boka Den gyldne tigeren er en hjertevarmende og tankevekkende bok om relasjoner, kul

#SixForSunday; Pastel Coloured Covers

Image
It's Sunday and time for a new #SixForSunday post, courtesy of  A Little But A Lot and the theme of the week was pastel coloured covers. Here's my picks. My Life in Transition: A Super Late Bloomer Collection by Julia Kaye The Saffron Trail by Rosanna Ley The Little Bookshop of Love Stories by Jaimie Admans A Pair of Silver Wings by James Holland Wed, Read & Dead by V. M. Burns Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert

Review; Hope, Faith, and a Corpse: A Faith Chapel Mystery by Laura Jensen Walker

Image
Last year I was fortunate enough to recieve an ARC of the cosy mystery Hope, Faith, and a Corpse: A Faith Chapel Mystery by Laura Jensen Walker through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review. Description from Goodreads In the tradition of M. C. Beaton, Hope Taylor, pastor of a small-town California church, tries to find out who sent a church elder to Heaven. Hope Taylor arrives in Apple Springs to start her new life as the first female pastor of Faith Chapel Episcopal Church. The northern California town's quaint cottages, bungalows, and shops promise a fresh start for the 42-year-old widow and Bogie, her scruffy black Labrador. But where is Father Christopher? The kindly old rector who hired Pastor Hope was supposed to meet her upon her arrival, but he's nowhere to be seen. Hope's faith springs eternal, so she explores the little white church hoping to find Father Christopher. But when she enters the columbarium, she instead finds church

Let's Talk Bookish; What Makes You Continue Picking Up YA/Middle Grade?

Image
It's Friday and time for a new Let's Talk Bookish, courtesy of  Eternity Books and Literary Lion . The theme/questions of the week was " What makes you countinue picking up YA/middle grade? Or why don't you? ". I'm not going to deny that I sometimes pick up YA and middle grade books from time to time. Some YA and middle grade books are actually very well written and they occasionally deal with various topics in a different manner than "regular adult" books, which makes it a bit more interesting. It's not like I want to limit myself to only read adult books just because I'm in my early thirties. Also, YA and middle grade books can be a bit refreshing after reading some really heavy books and I want something that's a bit lighter (although some YA and middle grade can be really dark too, don't get me wrong here). If I didn't read YA and middle grade books, I would have missed out on books such as Small Spaces by Katherine Arden, B

Book Tag; The Quarantine Book Tag

Image
I came across The Quarantine Book Tag over at  Sav's Review  and created by  Words About Words and I decided to play along. Rules: Pingback to, @ WordsAboutWords , so they can see all your answers. Tag the person you found this from. Don’t stress and have fun! (& also stay safe!) The Questions: 1. Favorite reading spot at home? My couch 2. An unread book in your physical TBR? Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara 3. A book you’ve actually read from your physical TBR pile? Bannockburn 1314 by Lynette Nusbacher 4. Next book release you’re hyped for? Brothers in Arms by James Holland 5. Favorite bookish world to escape to? Narnia 6. A bookish world you would NOT want to visit? Westeros 7. Favorite author to follow on Twitter? Bryce Gibson 8. A bookish craft you’d like to try? DIY Book Page Vintage Botanical Prints 9. Something you’d like to practice/get better at? I'd love to practice my flute more. 10. How many times has your reading been interrupted by a famil