Posts

Showing posts from February, 2019

Monthly Summary; February 2019

It's the end of yet another month, which means it's time to write a monthly summary including the book haul of the month and the books I've read. At the moment I have a gut feeling that next month's book haul is going to be pretty big as "Mammutsalget" is happening in the beginning of March and I have already pre-ordered roughly 13 books (*facepalm*).

Anyway, here's the book haul for this month and the books I've read.

Books I've Read
Ingenlund - Morrigan's forbannelse by Jessica Townsend
Der lyset slipper inn by Lucy Dillo
The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
Under udalatrærne by Chinelo Okparanta
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Venneforespørsel by Laura Marshall
En modig datter by Renita D'Silva
Vågespill by Ann Rosman

Book Haul
Thin Air by Michelle Paver (book through Blind Date with a Book Club)
Stifinnerne by Reidar Kaarbø (press copy from the author)
Vågespill by Ann Rosman (physical press copy from the publisher)
Venneforespør…

Book Tour & Giveaway; The Woman America Loves a Latte by Holly Tierney-Bedord

Image
The Woman America Loves a Latte by Holly Tierney-Bedord Genre: Women's Fiction 
From the best-selling author of Sweet Hollow Women comes a quirky new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Liane Moriarty, and Carl Hiaasen.

Veloura has never stood a chance. Raised by a junkie and orphaned as a teen, she's settled for a life of low expectations. She spends her days sprucing up the shack of a has-been bull rider and washing hair down at the local salon. But when it turns out her fiancé doesn't have her best interests at heart, she's forced to come up with a new plan for herself.
An opportunity to be the spokesperson for a coffee chain means a bright future could be hers, if only she can stay ahead of her dark past.


Goodreads * Amazon

Holly Tierney-Bedord is the author of several novels and novellas including Sweet Hollow Women, The Woman America Loves a Latte, The Port Elspeth Jewelry Making Club, and Surviving Valencia. She's also an artist and miniaturist, creator of the mid…

Top 5 Wednesday; Fictional Places I'd Take a Date To

It's Wednesday and time for a new Top 5 Wednesday post, courtesy of the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group. The theme of the week was fictional places I'd take a date to.
Waffle Heart Café, The Twistrose Key by Tone Almhjell The Tree Broomsticks in Hogsmeade, Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling The Literary Apothecary , The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George La Celeste Pralin, Chocolat by Joanne Harris Death by Coffee Café, Death by Coffee by Alex Ericksson

Top Ten Tuesday; Places Mentioned In Books That I'd Like To Visit

Image
It's Tuesday, which means it's time for yet another Top Ten Tuesday post, courtesy of That Artsy Reader Girl. The theme of the week was places mentioned in books that I'd like to visit.
Here's my picks;
Prague (Czech Republic), Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Guernsey (UK), The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
Vermont (US), The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon
Beijing (China), Beijing Doll by Chun Sue
Outer Hebrides (UK), Coffin Road by Peter May
Iceland, The Legacy by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Solomon Islands, Devil Devil by Graeme Kent
The Mütter Museum (US), Boneseeker by Brynn Chapman
Marrakech (Morocco), The Saffron Trail by Rosanna Ley
Paris (France), The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

Cover Reveal; Kingdom of Sand & Wishes

Image
Kingdom of Sand & Wishes: A Limited Edition Collection of Aladdin Retellings
Publication date: May 24th 2019
Genres: Fairy Tales, Fantasy, Young Adult
Aladdin, but not as you remember it….
On the dusty streets, around the bustling bazaars, being overlooked by a Sultan’s Palace was a land. A land of magic, secrets and treasures buried deep beneath the desert.
Through Arabian nights, dark forces are at work. Dark forces that can threaten the peace of everyone in the Kingdom. Watch our authors as they answer the question, can three wishes save the day?
Join our award winning and USA Today best selling authors for nine action packed fantasy and contemporary retellings with Sultans, sorcerers, romance and more magic than a genie’s lamp can hold.
One click now for your happily ever after….
GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Omtale; Kvinnen som ble saget i to av Kari Slaatsveen

Image
Sent i fjor fikk jeg tilsendt et leseeksemplar av novellesamlinga Kvinnen som ble saget i to av Kari Slaatsveen fra forlaget og i dag kommer omtalen av boka.

Beskrivelse fra forlaget
En dag slo Otto Knagenhjelm hendene i bakebordet så melskyen sto! Og dro! Otto K er bare en av mange skikkelser vi møter i denne boka. De er alle midt i livet, et liv de prøver å finne seg til rette i, eller bryte opp fra. Her er det oppbrudd og opprørstrang, som utvalgte lesere nok kan kjenne seg igjen i på svært overraskende og tankevekkende måter - for i neste øyeblikk, eller på neste side, forstå at verden også henger sammen på et vis. Tekstene tar leseren med ut i skogen, inn i et kontorlandskap der en regnskapsfører drømmer seg bort i snirklete brosteinsgater i små italienske fjellandsbyer og et lite reisebyrå som har spesialisert seg på gruppereiser for enslige globetrottere, men også til Roar Smebyhaugens bryllup i den vesle kirka på Kapp, en tidlig junidag, der Totenlandet ligger nygrønt ned mot …

Release Week Blitz; Of Wolves and Witches by Elena Lawson

Image
I am so excited that OF WOLVES AND WITCHES by Elena Lawson is available now and that I get to share the news!
If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Elena Lawson, be sure to check out all the details below.
This blitz also includes a giveaway for a $10 GC courtesy of Elena and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.
Title: OF WOLVES AND WITCHES (Arcane Arts Academy Book 1) Author: Elena Lawson Pub. Date: February 23, 2019 Publisher: Elena Lawson Formats: Paperback, eBook Pages: 200 Find it:GoodreadsAmazon
I messed up. I broke two of the Arcane Council's laws in one day. I swear it was an accident—but try telling that to the Arcane authorities.
Before I could catch my breath, my simple gypsy life of peddling potions with my guardians is wrenched away. I'm forcibly enrolled into the prestigious and supremely snotty Arcane Arts Academy, given shackles under the guise of mercy for my crimes.
As if t…

Book Tour & Giveaway; The Mourner's Cradle by Tommy B. Smith

Image
The Mourner's Cradle: A Widow's Journey by Tommy B. Smith Genre: Horror
The tale of a widow's harrowing journey through grief and peril into the cold remnants of a dead world.

Damon Sharpe had in part found victory, he believed, in his battle to unearth a truth obscured by time. By autumn, he was dead, leaving to his wife Anne a house of unfulfilled wishes, remnants, and the key to the enigma of his obsession, the Mourner’s Cradle.
A journey through grief and peril delivers Anne Sharpe from her home in St. Charles to the faraway skeletons of a long-dead civilization where she will find the desperate answers she seeks…or die trying.


Goodreads * Amazon

Tommy B. Smith is a writer of dark fiction, author of The Mourner's Cradle, Poisonous, and the short story collection Pieces of Chaos, as well as works appearing in numerous magazines and anthologies throughout the years. His presence currently infests Fort Smith, Arkansas, where he resides with his wife and cats.
Website * Facebo…

Review; Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit

Image
Those of you who have followed this blog for a time, probably have figured out that I am a feminist. Due to that, I couldn't resist picking up Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit and today I'll post the review.

Description from Goodreads
In her comic, scathing essay “Men Explain Things to Me,” Rebecca Solnit took on what often goes wrong in conversations between men and women. She wrote about men who wrongly assume they know things and wrongly assume women don’t, about why this arises, and how this aspect of the gender wars works, airing some of her own hilariously awful encounters.

She ends on a serious note— because the ultimate problem is the silencing of women who have something to say, including those saying things like, “He’s trying to kill me!”

This book features that now-classic essay with six perfect complements, including an examination of the writer Virginia Woolf ’s embrace of mystery, of not knowing, of doubt and ambiguity, a highly original inquiry into ma…

Release Day Blitz; Fae's Captive by Lily Archer

Image
I am so excited that FAE'S CAPTIVE by Lily Archer is available now and that I get to share the news!
If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Lily Archer, be sure to check out all the details below.
This blitz also includes a giveaway for a $10 Amazon GC courtesy of Lily and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.
Title: FAE'S CAPTIVE Author: Lily Archer Pub. Date: February 19, 2019 Publisher: Lily Archer Formats: Paperback, eBook Pages: 215 Find it:Goodreads, Amazon
My college roommate was the worst. Cecile would steal my food, bring guys over at all hours, and party instead of studying. But those quirks paled in comparison to what she did next. She drugged me, and I woke up imprisoned in an alternate universe full of terrifying creatures. Now, the biggest and scariest creature of all—a fae king—believes I’m his mate. He’s freed me from the dungeon, but keeps me close. So close, in fact, that I’m …

Sale Blitz: Anastasia Phoenix Series by Diana Rodriguez

Image

Book Blogger Hop; Favourite Bookish Accessory

Image
It's Friday, which means it's time for a new Book Blogger Hop post, courtesy of Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. The question of the week was "What's your favourite bookish accessory that's NOT a book?".
Book Blogger Hop Apart from my Rosie the Riveter-inspired Hermione Granger t-shirt, one of my favourite bookish accessories is a totebag with a C. S. Lewis quote.


Se dette innlegget på Instagram
#mybookishseptember18 Book set in the countryside. #septshelfawareness Take a hike . . #inkedpagessept18 #totebagtuesday #bookstagram #bibliophile #ilovebooks #ilovereading #bookworm #booklover #bookdragon #booksarelife #booksarelove Et innlegg delt av Kristin Frøyland Jørgensen (@gothicvamperstein) Sep. 18, 2018 kl. 4:45 PDT

Book Tour & Giveaway; Shadows of Atlantis by Mara Powers

Image
Shadows of Atlantis: Awakening by Mara Powers Genre: Fantasy
"...had me turning the pages obsessively from the very beginning." Readers Favorite.

Enter the legacy of the legend... Brigitte has been chosen to renew the treaty between Atlantis and the ancient bloodline of Lemuria. As an emissary of nature, her betrothal would ensure the continued function of the Crystal Grid, the life source of the ten kingdoms of Atlantis. But as Brigitte prepares to leave from her home in the magical Dreamvale, her people are attacked by a storm of shadows. Now she is running for her life.
Upon her arrival in the ruling city of Atlantis, she meets D’Vinid, a dejected musician who lives the quintessential Atlantean lifestyle of revelry, escapism and apathy. Under the eclipse of a sacred festival, they are swept into an attraction they cannot resist. Their union may protect humanity from its worst enemy - the shadows of Atlantis. But there is one problem, this man is not her betrothed.
Brigitte s…