Review; Pride, Prejudice and Poison (A Jane Austen Society Mystery #1) by Elizabeth Blake

Earlier this year I recieved an ARC of the cosy mystery Pride, Prejudice and Poison (A Jane Austen Society Mystery #1) by Elizabeth Blake through Netgalley. I read it shortly afterwards and today I'll post my review.

Description from Goodreads
Perfect for fans of Laura Levine and Stephanie Barron, Elizabeth Blake’s Jane Austen Society mystery debut is a mirthfully morbid merger of manners and murder.

In this Austen-tatious debut, antiquarian bookstore proprietor Erin Coleridge uses her sense and sensibility to deduce who killed the president of the local Jane Austen Society.

Erin Coleridge’s used bookstore in Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire, England is a meeting place for the villagers and, in particular, for the local Jane Austen Society. At the Society’s monthly meeting, matters come to a head between the old guard and its young turks. After the meeting breaks for tea, persuasion gives way to murder—with extreme prejudice—when president Sylvia Pemberthy falls dead to the floor. Poisoned? Presumably…but by whom? And was Sylvia the only target?

Handsome—but shy—Detective Inspector Peter Hadley and charismatic Sergeant Rashid Jarral arrive at the scene. The long suspect list includes Sylvia’s lover Kurt Becker and his tightly wound wife Suzanne. Or, perhaps, the killer was Sylvia’s own cuckolded husband, Jerome. Among the many Society members who may have had her in their sights is dashing Jonathan Alder, who was heard having a royal battle of words with the late president the night before.

Then, when Jonathan Alder narrowly avoids becoming the next victim, Farnsworth (the town’s “cat lady”) persuades a seriously time-crunched Erin to help DI Hadley. But the killer is more devious than anyone imagines.

My Thoughts on the Book
I liked the Yorkshire setting, the bookstore and the use of the Jane Austen Society and a slightly diverse cast, but there were also a few things I didn't quite like about the book, such as the heavy use of tropes (both love triangle and dark and broody male love interests is one example). Also, it was okay to use a few Jane Austen quotes here and there, but it got old after a while as well as the use of the word "pet" in dialogue.

Another thing is that even though I liked that the author tried to implement a few typical British words, such as the words "pet" (abeit a slight overuse) in dialogues, it's clear that the author is American, as one could also find words such as "fall" instead of autumn in the novel. Personally, I found that a bit annoying, as I saw the author tried to set a British vibe in the book, but used typical American English words here and there. If one is going to do it, please do it properly.

Though I might add that I think this book series has potential and I would give it a shot at further reading.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

2019 Diversity Reading Challenge

Review; Past & Present by Judy Penz Sheluk

Omtale; Djeveldansen av Tore Aurstad og Carina Westberg